San Andres 2008 MX Rider of the Year
Thursday, 27 November 2008 22:19
Namssa by Namssa

YOUTHFUL rider Kenneth San Andres emerged Rider of the Year after the National Motorcycle Sports and Safety Association (NAMSSA) decided to use the standings of the National Motocross Championships-Mayor Ed Roquero Cup’s 9th leg to determine the season’s champions.

The 10th leg, scheduled last Nov. 23, was also supposed to be held at the San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan track, but due to rainy pre-race conditions, the final stage was scrapped, with organizers declaring the standings at the end of the 9th leg as the conclusion of the series supported by San Jose Del Monte City Government, City of Puerto Princesa, Moldex, Daily Harvest Farm, Oakley, Flambuoyant Construction, GCG Pipes, Topmaster and Sign Effex.

Event chairman Norbie Roquero and NAMSSA international jury officials came up with the decision in accordance with the international laws governing the sport and with the unanimous approval by all the riders.

A motocross exhibition and awards night were instead held at the Moldex Metrogate Subdivision in Sapang Palay, San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan.

San Andres scored a four-race sweep of both the premier Pro Open and 125 divisions before 25,000 fans in the 9th leg, also known as the 3rd Mayor E. V. Roquero Motocross Cup.

There, San Andres shoved Jovy Saulog (2nd) and JC Rellosa (3rd) to the backseat in both races of the Pro 125, where he already clinched the title by virtue of his accumulated 405 points. Going into the 10th stage, San Andres held a 60-point lead over the second-running Rellosa, with each leg offering only 50 points for a two-race sweep.

The Philippine Sportswriters Association’s top awardee for motocross, who is backed by Oakley, Bridgestone Tires, HJC Helmets, Fox Racing, EZ Trailer, Polisport, Inside Racing, JBS Motorcycle Parts and Accessories and Bike Plus, was as dominant in the 9th leg’s Pro Open, where his twin-kill over Saulog (2nd) and Jolet Jao (3rd) netted him a nine-round total of 428 points, 41 ahead of the second-running Saulog.


KENNETH R. SAN ANDRES is from Canumay, Valenzuela City. He is the son of an expert motocross rider, Junjun San Andres who is a former member of Petron-Kawasaki motocross team.

Kenneth is known as, “The Wonder Boy of Philippine Junior Motocross” and the “10 Time National Champion” in Motocross since he begun joining competitions in 1996. He started riding a motorbike at the age of 3 ½ but started competing at the age of 5 ½. His first motorbike was a Jacson pocket bike.

He was the first kid to win the Peewee Cross Championship which was held at the race track of Cong. Jackie Enrile in Tagaytay in 1996. Since then, he won first place in every motocross races for kids that he joined.

Another victory for him was bagging the most prestigious award in motocross and that is by being named as the 2008 Rider of the Year thus, making him the youngest recipient of the said title in Philippine motocross history at the age of 19. At present, Kenneth is a member of the Philippine Motocross Team.###